Contrast

We want to assure everyone that the ingredients in the vaccines are safe and suitable for them, browse the sections below for more information.

The approved COVID-19 vaccines do not contain any animal products or egg. A detailed review of the vaccines and their ingredients have been provided by the MHRA: 

For the Pfizer/BioNTech vaccine information - Regulatory approval of Pfizer/BioNTech vaccine for COVID-19 - GOV.UK (www.gov.uk) 

For the Oxford/AstraZeneca vaccine information - Regulatory approval of COVID-19 Vaccine AstraZeneca - GOV.UK (www.gov.uk) 

The British Islamic Medical Association have produced a helpful guide for the Muslim community which can be found at https://britishima.org/pfizer-biontech-covid19-vaccine/ 

The vaccines do not contain any meat derivatives or porcine products. If, and when, further vaccines are approved we will publish information about known allergens or ingredients that are important for certain faiths, cultures and beliefs.